Kosmos: A Greek Feast

On my sixth day on the trot in the office last week (oh the joys!), as I wrestled with yet another Excel spreadsheet, I felt the urge for an impromptu night out. So a few texts later, an evening with Darren, Ben and Nicola was planned, heading to the mythical Kosmos.

Darren has been meaning to take me to Kosmos for several years now and I’ve been dying to go seeing as everyone in Manchester raves about it so I’m not quite sure why it has taken us this long to get around to it. It’s a cute little Greek taverna, with a real family feel, nestled in the middle of Fallowfield. We bundled in out of the rain, grabbed some seats and eagerly scanned the menu.Lucy and Nicola - CopyMy three dining companions were all Kosmos veterans and advised that the best way to start would be with a couple of big sharing platters.

I’m glad I took their advice as the platters were each filled with a mini feast. We ordered two Mini Mezes with plenty of pitta breads and an extra side of Kalamarakia Tiganita (that’s kalamari to you and me!). Each Mini Meze was slightly different and was filled with gorgeous Greek goodies.IMG_3552 IMG_3546IMG_3548Salads, dips, cheese, olives, falafels, stuffed vine leaves galore…IMG_3545IMG_3547IMG_3550 IMG_3549 My favourite had to be the Spanakotyropitakia (what a mouthful!) – gorgeous little cheese and spinach filo parcels. They were just bursting at the seams with filling!IMG_3553The kalamari was really addictive. I probably ended up eating more than my fair share! Ooops. However I do pick through kalamari quite carefully to make sure I don’t eat any that look too much like baby squid – they look too cute to eat! I’m the kind of person who doesn’t like my food to look too much like the animals I’m actually eating. Daft I know, especially for someone who grew up on a farm. IMG_3551After munching our way through the giant meze bowls, I was already stuffed. This was rather unfortunate given that we were only on the starter and I was really looking forward to my next course!

When it came to mains, as I’m a massive cheese fan, it was inevitable that I would be drawn to a dish containing something of the cheesy variety so I plumped for the Kotopoulo Meh Feta Kokkinisto. IMG_3564Chicken breasts stuffed with feta cheese and mushrooms, cooked in a garlic, white wine and tomato sauce. It was really delicious! Look at all that cheesy goodness inside…IMG_3571Kosmos certainly don’t scrimp on their portion sizes, and as I was so full from the starter, I could only manage about half of it. That’ll teach me not to over do it on the pitta breads! Luckily Darren has an endless appetite so he was able to ensure that none of it was wasted. I would love to come back and have this again after having been a little more restrained on the starters, as it was really delicious and it made me so sad not to have eaten it all!

In addition to half of my meal, Darren also tucked into his Rosto. IMG_3566Chunks of lamb shoulder on the bone, slowly cooked with onions, garlic and cinnamon in a rich red wine sauce. The lamb just fell off the bone and was beautifully done.

Meanwhile, Ben and Nicola both went for the Arnaki Meh Spanahi. IMG_3563Chunks of lamb, casseroled in wine, tomatoes, garlic, cinnamon and fresh spinach. It looked divine. When I’d been scanning the menu this was one of the dishes I’d been very tempted by and Ben and Nicola were very pleased with themselves for their good choice!

The others clearly had bigger appetites than me as not a morsel of good food was wasted. We finished with very full bellies, having had a gorgeous meal. No pretentiousness, just really friendly service, and very homely and authentic cooking. If you’re a fan of Greek food, you need to get yourself down here pronto.

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus 🙂

Kosmos on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Eating out, Manchester and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Kosmos: A Greek Feast

  1. Wow, looks heavenly! I wish I could jump right into your pictures! ~SueBee

  2. Sofie says:

    Mmmm, olives, falafel, feta cheese (lots of it!). I love those Greek ingredients! And tell me about it, starters are always treacherous!

    Sofie x
    Little green Sofie

  3. Emma says:

    Aww, that looks like such a brilliant night out! I had a meze plate a few years ago and I think it’s a good idea as you can try everything. I’d love to eat more Greek food! x

  4. Emma says:

    This looks amazing!

    I went to Greece earlier this year, and this has reminded me just how good the food it.

    hmm maybe…

  5. Food looks so yummy! Also nominated you for the Liebster award that’s going around 🙂 go and check it out! http://georginaann.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/the-liebster-award.html

  6. lazybill says:

    That looks gorgeous. On our last few visits to Manchester we’ve been visiting The Topkapi Palace on Deansgate where they do excellent Turkish food but I think we need to give the Greek a try!

  7. Mélane says:

    You must have had a great time with all that delicious looking food!

    xo Mélane

  8. Maddie says:

    This food looks really good! It’s nice to meet another blogger front he North!

    I have nominated you for the Liebster award! Here’s the link to the questions and what you have to do to participate! http://www.headhigheartstrong.com/2014/04/the-liebster-award.html

  9. Be says:

    I love Greek food! This post makes me so jealous! Everything looks soooo good!

    With love, Be || lovefrombe

Leave a Reply

