Life Lately #2

It’s time for a little catch up. Time seems to be flying by right now at a rate of knots as we find ourselves in the midst of crunchy-leafed autumn. Here’s what I’ve been up to lately…

Going out with the girls for Vogue’s Fashion Night Out. girls fashion night outComplimentary bubbly whilst watching a few fashion shows wasn’t a bad way to spend the evening.IMG_3150 WP_20131010_008There were DJs scattered all over town, including outside of Selfridges and in many of the shops. I even spotted Bip Ling on the decks in Ugg.WP_20131010_003Whilst I didn’t buy anything on the night itself, I have recently made a few cheeky purchases from New Look. A girl can never have enough pairs of cute pumps right?New look gold shoes new look good shoes 2 black and snake shoe black and snake 2And as I love anything sheep-related, I just had to pick up this cute jumper!sheep jumperHopping from shopping to science (a topic that Darren is much more interested in!), Darren and I had a great time at the Museum of Science and Industry when we went to visit the Brains: The Mind as Matter exhibition. Exploring the quest of science over the years to manipulate and decipher the human brain, it was fascinating. I’d highly recommend a visit if you’re in the area.

WP_20130926_001

Although no photos were allowed in the exhibition itself, I did end up getting my own picture on the screens hanging from the ceiling in their entrance hall!MOSI TV screensNow it’s rare that I write a post where food doesn’t feature in some capacity, and this blog post will be no exception. Much to my excitement, this week we’ve been cracking out the first mince pies of the season. I think I’ll pretty much be living on these right through to January and I can highly recommend Waitrose’s offerings.IMG_3183Another new foodie item that has recently made its way into our life is this rather serious looking machine. IMG_3190Having become hooked on proper espressos whilst we were in Italy, Darren has bought himself an espresso machine. I’m not keen on coffee myself, but he’s loving it.

And continuing with the theme of food, as soon as I found out that we were having another Manchester Food & Drink Festival, we went straight down to Albert Square to see what was going on.IMG_3138 IMG_3137 IMG_3145We ended up picking up a bag full of interesting sausages. It was the same sausage stall that we’ve seen at the Christmas markets, so we made a bee-line for it straight away as we knew how good they would be! Once the Christmas markets launch in mid-November, we’ll definitely be there buying some more 🙂IMG_3130And of course I needed to indulge my sweet tooth, so we tucked into plenty of churros dipped in chocolate sauce. IMG_3126 IMG_3132 Whenever I see somewhere selling churros, I always have to get involved!IMG_3135What have you been up to lately?

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus 🙂
This entry was posted in Life Lately and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Life Lately #2

  1. You see, that there post is exactly why I need to move back to Manchester right now!
    So much to do! I miss the food festival so much – I used to work seconds away from those churros and you’ve just inspired me even more why I need to get back to them…lol! 😉
    Life lately posts are some of my favourites…though it’s far to early for mince pies! 😉
    Sarah x

  2. WengYee says:

    VFNO looks amazing and those Churros are yummy! x

    9 out of ten | follow me on bloglovin

  3. Gosh Manchester has a lot going on at the moment! Fashion shows and food markets?!
    Jealous….
    P.S. Love the new pumps!
    Emily xx
    My Ginger Bread Journey

  4. Sofie says:

    I love your new shoes and that jumper is so adorable! The science exhibition sounds very interesting. Human brain is such a fascinating subject.
    What exactly are mince pies? They really look good anyway. Those food festivals you have in England are really making me jealous!

    Sofie x
    http://littlegreensofie.blogspot.be/

    • Hey Sofie! Mince pies are a sweet pie full of juicy dried fruit, fruit puree, spices and a little bit of brandy. They’re one of my favourite things about a British Christmas! If you ever come to visit the UK between October-December, you have to try one x

  5. Emma says:

    Looks like you’ve had a fun time! I’m going to Spain this week, can’t wait to have churros there too. WIsh we had more festivals and fashions shows like that!

Leave a Reply

