Afternoon Tea at Cloud 23

For my Grandma’s last day in Manchester, I wanted to take her out for a special treat. Going for afternoon tea was the first idea that sprang to my mind, but rather than just going to any old tea rooms or hotel, I wanted to take her somewhere with a view. Cloud 23 is based at the top of the Hilton Hotel in the city centre and has brilliant views across the city, all the way out to the Pennines. I’d been to Cloud 23 a few times before for cocktails at night time, but never during the day when you can fully appreciate the city, so off we went to enjoy some yummy food, whilst soaking in the view of my adopted city.

Hilton ManchesterIMG_1912IMG_1918IMG_1914With great views on all sides, the first thing you do when you come here is wander around the perimeter of the room, gawping at everything that you can see. Everything in the city suddenly seems so small, and all of the cars and people buzzing around below look as small as insects.North view from Cloud 23 HiltonView from cloud 23 ManchesterIf you’re brave, you can also stand on the large glass window in the floor and stare down to the people wandering around twenty three floors below you.Floor windowSat right next to the window on the south side, we got down to the serious business of afternoon tea.IMG_1922 The New Northerner afternoon tea I went for the Traditional English whilst Grandma plumped for the Signature Earl Grey.Traditional Afternoon Tea Cloud 23 Hilton ManchesterAfter a little wait, the goodies turned up!

Whenever I go for afternoon tea, I’ll always look at the little sandwiches and cakes that we’re presented with and think, well, I could eat double that, but then the sneaky little treats always manage to fill me up.IMG_1931 IMG_1926 Cloud 23 afternoon tea cake Scones cloud 23 afternoon teaIMG_1936Crumbly scones with lashings of clotted cream and oodles of jam have to be one of my favourite things in the whole world. I could eat them all day. Whilst the little pies, wraps and sandwiches were delicious, let’s be honest, it’s all about the cakes.IMG_1928These pistachio-flavoured macaroons in particular were absolutely divine. I need to get macaroons in my life on a more regular basis!Cloud 23 afternoon tea macaroonsWe polished off every last crumb and were left with very full little bellies. We loved the view and loved the food even more. I’d definitely recommend it for a slightly more interesting afternoon tea venue.

And whilst I wouldn’t normally take a picture in the loos, I couldn’t resist taking a snap of what I saw on the window…IMG_1962IMG_1968Have you got any favourite places to go for afternoon tea?

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus 🙂
Cloud 23 - Manchester Deansgate on Urbanspoon
This entry was posted in Manchester and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Afternoon Tea at Cloud 23

  1. Oh wow that food looks yum! I went there in April for a few cheeky cocktails – it’s such a cool place! Would love to go again x

    duggydimples.blogspot.co.uk

  2. Aw I bet your Granny loved it! The cakes look gorgeous

    Cx
    Cocktails and Caroline

  3. Hello, how much did this cost for two please? I’ve only been there at night too and didn’t have a great experience. This looks a lot better.
    FM

    • It depends on what day you go as to how expensive it is (it’s more expensive at the weekend) – varying between about £20-£23 per person. I much preferred going to Cloud 23 during the day, so I wouldn’t be put off by your experience of going at night, as the atmosphere is completely different. Personally I find Cloud 23 at night time to feel very flashy and a bit pretentious, but it felt very relaxed on a weekend afternoon.

  4. Sofie says:

    Haha, those last two pictures in the loos!
    It seems like you’ve had a great time with your Granny. She will certainly have enjoyed your days together. It’s very nice that you planned all these lovely trips for her, she must be very proud to have you as her granddaughter.
    I love the dress you’re wearing, by the way. The bright colours are so pretty.

    Sofie x
    http://littlegreensofie.blogspot.be/

  5. That looks so much fun and those views look amazing! I love a good afternoon tea – can’t bet Betty’s in York for a good traditional afternoon tea!

  6. Aww your grandmother is so cute!
    Looks like you had a lovely time, plus those pistachio macaroons look scrummy!
    Emily xx
    My Ginger Bread Journey

  7. daniela says:

    this looks so yummy! i love bake a boo in north london xx

  8. Krystal says:

    I wish tea time was a thing in America. You’ve given me a new mission though! I’m going to find someplace that does do tea:)

  9. Marija says:

    The pics look amazing! Such a wonderful idea to take your grams there 🙂

    http://www.rosehorseshoe.com

Leave a Reply

