Guerilla Eats

After a day of working from home (which included one and a half hours on the phone to IT trying to get my laptop to work properly, grrr!), I was ready to stretch my legs and head out into the city. My mission – to discover some new foodie delights and catch up with my friend Lottie. Our destination – the railway arches of New Bailey Street, which had been taken over by Guerilla Eats, a collective of food traders who hold big street food parties.

When we arrived we found a bunch of different foodie stalls spread out amongst the exhibition space beneath the big old arches, rows of tables for people to sit, eat and natter, and some banging tunes on the sound system.Guerilla Eats The Amazing Mr Meat Ball Guerilla Eats After grabbing a Guerilla Punch from the bar (made from bourbon, cider, apple and ginger), we pottered around to check out all of the stands. It was tricky to decide what to eat, but in the end we both plumped for the Carne Arepas from the Arepa Arepa Arepa stall.Guerilla Eats ManchesterNow I’ve never had an Arepa before, but they are essentially a very filling Colombian flat bread, filled with the stuffing of your choice. We went for the shredded beef option and covered them liberally with mango sauce.IMG_1775It was really delicious and ridiculously filling. They certainly didn’t scrimp on the beef.IMG_1777Me at Guerilla Eats cropped 2After allowing the Arepas to settle down in our stomachs, we went in search of dessert. We already knew where we wanted to go – The Ginger’s Comfort Emporium ice cream van for the infamous Chorlton Crack ice cream. There was a range of very tempting flavours from this Manchester ice cream institution, from Coconut, Lime & Rum to Absinthe, but the lure of the Chorlton Crack was too strong to resist.Guerilla Eats Gingers Comfort EmporiumAlso known as Salted Caramel and Peanut Butter ice cream, Chorlton Crack is phenomenal and unlike any other ice cream I’ve ever tried. Having been served by a man who is pretty much the Willy Wonka of the ice cream world, we eagerly devoured the ice creams.IMG_1780It was very very creamy, rich in flavour, with a salty edge. For those of you who love sweet and salty flavours combined together, this is the ice cream for you. Hopefully I’ll be able to find the Ginger’s Comfort Emporium ice cream van again in and around Manchester, so I can have another scoop!

The Arepas were so filling that by the time we’d also eaten an ice cream, we were absolutely stuffed! I will definitely be keeping my eye out for more Guerilla Eats events now that I know that they exist. I mean, who isn’t keen to try out some interesting and unusual new foods? If you are in the Manchester area, I’d highly recommend coming along to one of their events.

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus 🙂
This entry was posted in Eating out, Manchester and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Guerilla Eats

  1. I’m with out doubt at the next event, looks and sounds incredible xx

  2. It’s a good job i’ve just had my lunch because that food looks amazing!

  3. Sofie says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of beef! The combination with the sweet mango sounds good though. And the ice creams seem delicious. I love peanut butter but have never heard of ice cream with peanut butter flavour before.
    Oh, and you look very pretty on that picture!

    Sofie x
    http://littlegreensofie.blogspot.be/

  4. That peanut butter ice cream from Ginger’s Comfort Emporium is just the nicest thing ever!!

  5. Krystal says:

    Oh.my.goodness. One, Guerilla Punch sounds bomb and Two, you’re making me hungry!! Thanks for sharing your delicious find! (Too bad I’m all the way in the states:( )

Leave a Reply

