Autumn resolutions

OK, so January is normally the time when we make resolutions, but what with it being the end of summer, and a new season coming in, I felt like I wanted to break out some new good habits. I will always associate September with the start of the academic year and so I’m still in the mindset of this time of year being a fresh start, even though school and university seem a long time ago now! These are the things that I want to try and do a lot more of over the coming season…

Playing the pianoIMG_1805I started playing the piano when I was fourteen, and played it pretty much obsessively until I went to university, which meant that I got to a fairly good standard. Whilst at Cambridge, the heavy workload alongside five training sessions a week of coxing rowing boats and a good social life, meant that piano playing kinda took more of a back step. I performed in a couple of recitals and as part of the orchestra for my college pantomime, but my practicing got a lot more infrequent. Then when I moved up to Manchester, I didn’t have any access to a piano any more, so the only time I ever got to play was when I went back home. Thankfully, when I bought my apartment back in December, I now had a spare room, with a perfect space for a piano, so earlier this year when my Mum and Dad came to visit, they popped the piano in the back of the car and brought it up. Therefore, now that I have a piano again, I really need to be making the most of it and I want to be able to get back up the standard that I used to be.IMG_1807When you can finally crack a piece of music and play it really well, it gives you such an amazing feeling and sense of achievement. It is very satisfying to be playing a really dramatic piece of music, thundering out the chords, creating cliff-hanger pauses, and letting your fingers move at (almost) the speed of light. So I shall try and get into a regular routine of practicing and get back up to scratch!Me playing piano

Learning a new language

In a couple of weeks, Darren and I are off to Italy. Woohoo! I’m so excited, however I know no Italian whatsoever and I don’t want to sound like a complete muppet, so I’m starting to learn. So far my lack of ability to roll my Rs is proving to be a bit of a hindrance towards getting an authentic-sounding Italian accent, so I will have to keep practising! Youtube is my best friend when it comes to finding good videos to teach me the basics so hopefully I will be able to wow the Italians with my super language skills.IMG_1832

Wearing bright lipstick

I’m not particularly experimental with my make up. When I’m wearing any, I tend to always go for the natural look – nude shades on my eyes, natural-looking blusher and a subtle berry-toned lip. Bright red lipstick is something that has always seemed a bit scary to me, so I’ve eased myself in with one of the L’oreal Glam Shines in the shade Juliet. It applies like a lip gloss, so this somehow makes it feel a whole lot easier to wear.IMG_1833These are very similar to the YSL Glossy Stains – a shiny long-lasting liquid lipstick. I wore this on a night out recently and really liked the look of it, so I’ll definitely have to try bright lips more often and break out of my comfort zone!Loreal glam shine Juliet

Eating more fruit

We all know that we should be trying to get our five a day, but sometimes it just slips. Therefore, I want to make more of a conscious effort to ensure I keep my diet varied, and eat lots of fruit every day. This comes at a good time as Darren’s Dad gave us loads of home-grown fruit (and some home-made wine!) yesterday, so now we’ve got plenty in stock!IMG_1797 IMG_1801

Getting back into a regular exercise routine

A while ago, through a combination of lots of exercise but little effective stretching, I managed to injure myself. Currently any exercises that involve vigorous leg movement hurt my injury, pretty much ruling out most exercises – running, cycling, rowing, swimming etc. This has led to me getting in a bit of a lazy rut and therefore not doing any exercise at all. However, enough is enough, and I don’t want to turn into a massive whale, so I turned to my good old friend Youtube again in search of exercise routines that don’t involve a whole lot of leg stuff. This is when I stumbled across Jillian Michaels’ Six Week Six-Pack Abs Routine.Gillian MichaelsNow, I am not particularly aiming to get a six pack, but this routine is great as I can do the majority of the routine without hurting my injury. Jillian is very American and full of overly-enthusiastic cheesy phrases that make me giggle and keep me interested. I will be trying to do this routine at least three times a week to start to build back my fitness. Then hopefully my doctor / physio will be able to mend my leg and I’ll be able to get back into my running at some point!

So, these are the things I’m planning to stick to over the coming weeks – my autumn resolutions if you will. I promise to let you know how I get on. Do any of you guys have any resolutions for the autumn? If you do, please let me know in the comments below.

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus πŸ™‚
This entry was posted in Random stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Autumn resolutions

  1. Holly says:

    I definitely associate September with a time of new starts as well – I always buy myself a new pair of “school shoes”, even though I left school quite a while ago! Best of luck with your autumn resolutions πŸ™‚

    partyatgatsbys.me x

  2. I love the Gillian Michaels 6 Week 6 Pack – it’s so good and a really good length too. She’s awesome. Good luck with it all!

    Caroline x
    Cocktails and Caroline

    • Thanks! I feel like I’ve been out of the exercise loop for so long that I’ve forgotten how to really push myself so the videos are great to ease me back into the whole world of exercise. And you’re right about the length – having shorter workouts makes it much more likely that I’ll be able to fit it in, but her videos are still long enough to feel like I’m doing something useful! x

  3. Sofie says:

    I should also start playing the piano again. Since I’m not at home during the week because of university, my practicing routine has unfortunately reached level zero. And because our piano is already quite old, there is one key that always gets stuck while playing (very annoying actually).
    Love that bright red lipstick, suits you really well. Don’t feel uncomfortable wearing it! And I should also start doing some exercise again. I also suffer from an injury on my leg which keeps me from running. It makes me feel very lazy and I don’t want to turn into a massive whale either!

    Sofie x
    http://littlegreensofie.blogspot.be/

    • Our old piano used to be like that as well! Eventually the piano got so old and knackered and broken that our piano tuner finally gave up and said it was a hopeless case. I think that piano ended up making a nice bonfire in the end! Luckily my new one is in much better working order πŸ™‚
      I’d highly recommend that workout if you fancy something non-leg achy. You just need to miss out a couple of the moves, but apart from that, it’s perfect. Just make sure that you hold the stretches for about 2-3 times as long as she does when you first start doing it, otherwise you might ache really badly afterwards! x

  4. Rouge says:

    great idea! Might make my own resolutions too, and a great free site for learning a new language is duolingo but i’m not sure if they have italian on it.
    x
    rougesramblings.blogspot.co.uk

  5. wearing orange lipstick changed how I feel about myself! DO IT! LLGxx

Leave a Reply

