Dough: Yes to Pizza

If you’re looking for good pizza, there is only one place you need to go. Dough. Nestled in the middle of Manchester’s Northern Quarter, if you’re looking for inspired and generous toppings, this will be your stomach heaven.Exif_JPEG_PICTUREIt may look like a vintage furniture shop from the outside, but inside, it’s all about the food.IMG_1332A bunch of us popped in during our lunch break to have some good chatter and some good food. The New Northerner Dough ManchesterFirstly, I was very exited to find Orangina on the drinks menu. To me, Orangina is something that I only ever have on holiday. I associate it with relaxing in the shade, after a long hot day in the sun, so it’s something that evokes happy holiday memories! Orangina doughNow, onto the food. For starter, we all plumped for either the Antipasto or the Lamb Koftas.IMG_1315The Antipasto had a gorgeous little selection of sliced chorizo, Serrano ham, salami, marinated olives and feta cheese served with toasted ciabatta. This looked more like a sharing dish than a starter for one, but I think it is Dough’s mission to make sure that you definitely don’t leave feeling hungry.Dough Manchester AntipastoMeanwhile, the Lamb Koftas with tzatziki dip were absolutely gorgeous. IMG_1313 I’d ordered these on a recommendation from my friend Chris, and I have to say, I wasn’t disappointed. The quality of the meat, combined with the flavours mixed in, means that I will definitely want to go for this dish again! IMG_1317Next up, it was time for the big boys to come out to play – it was pizza time! If you’re looking for a slightly more unusual pizza, this is the place to come. From Paella Pizza (garlic-marinated squid, king prawns, chorizo, chicken, and peas) to West Indies Pizza (slow-cooked curried lamb served with red onion, sliced peppered banana, mozzarella, curry spiced tomato sauce and mango chutney) to Dolcelatte Steak Pizza (rump steak strips with dolcelatte cheese, spinach, caramelised onions and pine nuts), you are bound to find something you love and can’t find anywhere else.IMG_1326To be honest, we played it fairly safe with our choices today though! As tempting as steak on a pizza is, when you’ve got an afternoon left of work, it’s probably not the most conducive meal towards helping you to stay awake!Dough Manchester Smoke Salmon pizzaThe Smoked Salmon Pizza – smoked salmon, spinach, capers, mozzarella, tomato sauce, drizzled with lemon oil. I’ve tried this one before, and would highly recommend it. Smoked salmon is always a winner with me!IMG_1321 Mark (top) – went for the Pulled Pork Pizza (home-cooked pulled pork, apples, white onions with a tangy pork drizzle), whilst Chris went for one of the more traditional pizza choices – the American, packed with heaps of Pepperoni.IMG_1323Suzanne decided to take up the heat with the Spicy Chicken (torn-roasted chicken, courgette, red onion, red peppers, fiery hot spices, topped with sweet chilli sauce).
IMG_1325 Phin went for the Rustica.IMG_1318And finally, Degsy went for the Jamaican pizza – a rum-infused hot jerk sauce with chicken, bacon, peppers, spring onions, black eyed beans and mozzarella.

Is your mouth watering yet?

I was fit to burst and still couldn’t finish, so luckily Dough packed me off with a pizza box doggy bag for me to continue munching on the rest of my pizza later. IMG_1334Dough certainly don’t scrimp on their toppings, so we all ended up waddling back to the office clutching massive food babies! Luckily I was leading a meeting for the next two hours so that kept me fairly alert, but if I’d just been sat at my desk, my head would definitely have been nodding, hoping for nap time! 

Have you ever been to Dough or do you have any good pizza recommendations?

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus 🙂

Dough Pizza Kitchen on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Eating out, Manchester and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dough: Yes to Pizza

  1. Sofie says:

    Oh my goodness, I’ve never – ever – seen a pizza so richly filled! How much salami is on the pepperoni one! Now that’s what I call a Pizza, with a capital P.
    The smoked salmon pizza would be my favourite too.

    Sofie x
    http://littlegreensofie.blogspot.be/

  2. Yum I love Dough! My favourite pizza is the Butternut Squash one on the wholemeal base (it feels much healthier haha) – it has chillies, ricotta and red cabbage on it. Love it!

  3. Laura says:

    Oh wow this place looks amazing!!! We have been meaning to visit Manchester for a while now, especially for the other half who wants to visit some mens wear clothing stores up there that are meant to be very good and we loooove food and this place is exactly our type of joint, it’s now on our must do list when we visit the city 🙂

    Laura x

  4. Pingback: Saturday Summary | Bonjour, Blogger!

  5. Phaze says:

    The food looks gorgeous!

    Ive recently started my own lifestyle blog, check it out on…
    phazestyle.blogspot.co.uk

    Thanks x

  6. Ting says:

    I love pizzas! Beautiful photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

