Bakewell

Whilst I love living in a city, sometimes it’s a relief to just leave the hustle and bustle behind and go somewhere with a quieter, slower pace of life. This past weekend, we rolled into the gorgeous little market town of Bakewell, nestled in the midst of the Derbyshire Dales, on the banks of the river Wye.IMG_1157 Bakewell centre church Bakewell Bakewell bridge riverOne day when I’m an old lady, I would love to come and live somewhere like this. Fine stone buildings, lots of cute streets to potter around, and if baked goods are your thing, there are plenty of little bakeries and tea shops to visit.IMG_1144The Lavender Tea Rooms BakewellHebden Court Bakewell Of course, we had to have a little nibble or two to eat and drink.IMG_1129 IMG_1132 IMG_1140I also got tempted by a few little homeware delights in a cute shop called The Little Ducks that I just wasn’t able to leave behind – a sweet fabric doorstop in the shape of a dog and an adorable sheep mat (if you’ve read my Guilty Pleasures post, you’ll know I have a bit of a thing for sheep!). IMG_1148 IMG_1149If you’re looking for a relaxing day out, I would highly recommend a visit to this quaint little town. I’ve been several times, and it never disappoints.

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus 🙂
This entry was posted in Derbyshire and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bakewell

  1. Emma says:

    I love little towns like this! And those tea rooms look beautiful. x

  2. Ahh I love Bakewell! I cycled through there for DofE (and got very lost…) but it was such a charming place!
    Looks like you enjoyed it as much as we did 🙂
    Emily x
    My Ginger Bread Journey

  3. Rebecca says:

    That place looks so sweet! I would love to have a relaxing day there sipping tea and some baked goods! So charming!

    Rebecca
    http://www.winnipegstyle.ca

  4. Pingback: Home Decor Haul #2 | The New Northerner

Leave a Reply

