July Favourites

So July has flown by already, in a heady mix of Henley, heatwaves, picnics, Pimms, my first blogger meet up and a wonderful visit from my parents. It has been great to spend lots of time in the glorious sunshine with my friends, meet some other lovely Northern bloggers and catch up with all of the news from back home.

At the end of every month I like to share some of the things that I’ve been loving recently, so here we go.

FashionIMG_1164The amazing weather that we’ve had has meant that I’ve got a lot of use out of this little summer dress. I bought it from BANK a couple of years ago and I just adore the cute little nautical collar and wraparound waist. It’s just perfect for hot days and can be dressed down with flip flops or dressed up with heels and smart accessories so it’s super versatile. the new northerner july favourites dress the new northerner july favourites dress bow

Bookthe new northerner reading This month I’ve really been enjoying reading Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With the Wind. I normally read books on my Kindle but every now and again it feels good to just read an actual physical book so I popped down to the City library to pick this one up. What I didn’t realise was that this book is an absolute epic and I could definitely have chosen a slightly smaller book to choose as a physical book! Nevertheless, I have been loving this story so much. I have been completely immersed in the writing, travelling away to 19th century America, following the loves and troubles of the feisty Scarlett O’Hara as she makes her way through the changing times of the American Civil War. From glamourous to gritty, this is tale of love and loss has had me truly gripped.

Beautyjuly favourites hair products keratase aussie These two products have left me with the softest hair I could every imagine. I just can’t stop stroking it! I leave the Aussie Take The Heat 3 Minute Miracle Deep Treatment on for about five minutes in the shower (I know it says 3 minutes on the tube, but a little bit of extra time can never be a bad thing surely?) and then rub two pumps of the Keratase Elixir Ultime through my damp hair once I’ve towel-dried it. My hair responds really well to oils and combined with a nourishing deep conditioner, this pair leaves my hair silky smooth.IMG_1189 I don’t know why it has taken me so long to get a decent top coat. I picked this up whilst browsing through Boots with some of the other girls from the Manchester Blogger Meet Up and although I haven’t had it for the whole month, I couldn’t not include it. If you want something to keep your nails in a shiny chip-free condition then go out and grab a bottle. I also love the fact that it’s quick dry. I’m forever smudging my freshly-painted nails where I haven’t realised that the polish hasn’t fully dried yet, so this is perfect as it dries hard within 30 seconds.

SnacksHalzephron sensational seedsSeeds are a great little healthy snack, full of vitamins and minerals and the Halzephron Herb Farm Sensational Seeds are brilliant as they are roasted in honey, giving you that gorgeous contrast between the sweet and savoury flavours. Once I open a pot I just can’t stop snacking!

TVThe Studios MediaCityUK Manchester Salford Quays I have two TV favourites this month. Firstly, Eight Out of Ten Cats Does Countdown. I was lucky enough to get to watch the filming of one of the episodes at the MediaCityUK studios. It was absolutely hilarious. The guys really are as funny in real life as they are on TV. There was a great moment during the filming where Jimmy Carr made Rachel Riley do a really tricky sum. About 15 mins later, Rachel realised that she’d got it wrong and stroppily demanded that they re-filmed it so that the TV audience would never see that she’d got something wrong!WP_20130711_002WP_20130711_004  My second TV favourite was watching the Tour de France. Darren is a very keen cyclist so he got me into this once he had explained everything that goes on (understanding all of the terminology, jerseys, points etc. can be quite confusing to a novice!). He actually took out a chalet in the Alps with a bunch of friends in order to watch the Tour as well as do a lot of cycling, so these photos are stolen from him! The French scenery is just stunning and the physical and mental strength of the cyclists is just incredible. I was so thrilled when Chris Froome won!1077219_10100836116613015_346362614_oAlpe d-heus  Apparently the crowds got pretty rowdy!1069258_10100836122401415_1485876840_nChris Froome1017713_10100836123005205_828668531_nI love that this rider decided to get involved in the party spirit as well!

Blog

Gingerbread journey

Gingerbread journey cake

My favourite blog this month has been Emily’s http://gingerbreadjourney.blogspot.co.uk/. Emily takes such gorgeous pictures and cooks the most mouth-wateringly delicious food. I wish I could have her come and cook for me! Also, doesn’t she have the most amazing hair? I want it!

I hope that you have all had a wonderful July! Please let me know what your favourite things were.

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus 🙂
This entry was posted in Monthly favourites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July Favourites

  1. Sofie says:

    Hi Lucy, that dress is gorgeous! The nautical collar is such a beautiful detail. The nutty snack looks delicious. I’m a complete nuts addict, I wish I could take this jar from my screen! Yum! I also really enjoy watching the Tour de France! It always puts me in a summer mood seeing those beautiful mountains and landscapes. But I always get frustrated by the crowd, people running next to the cyclists, aargh! I was very pleased too when Chris Froome won, even though I’m not from England.
    One of my favourite July moments was my holiday in England. I so so love it there, I wish I lived in your country!

    Sofie x
    http://littlegreensofie.blogspot.be/

Leave a Reply

