Youtube made me do it…

As I mentioned in my Guilty Pleasures post, I do love to indulge in watching some of the Youtube beauty gurus every now and then as a good way to wind down and pick up some new product recommendations. These are some of the things that I just had to get after seeing my favourite beauty vloggers rave about them.

Youtube made me do it beauty cosmetics Youtube made me do it beauty cosmetics urban decay naked pallette

MAC lipstick in PlumfulMAC Lustre Plumful LipstickMAC Lustre Plumful Lipstick SwatchI love a berry-toned pink lip, so when I saw Estée from Essie Button talking about this lipstick in her November Favourites, I knew I had to have it. I think that the gorgeous rich pink colour suits me with my pale skin and blue eyes so I’m glad I picked it up. As it’s a Lustre it has a gorgeous glossy slightly-sheer finish, and although it is a tiny bit sheer, it is very buildable so it can give you a dramatic lip if you want. The only downside for me is that if I don’t blot it with a tissue, the colour will smudge a tiny bit onto the skin around my mouth, so I have to blot it first before going out and this means that I do lose a bit of the glossy finish. It’s still a gorgeous colour though!

Revlon Nearly Naked Foundation in 130 ShellRevlon Nearly Naked Foundation 130 Shell Coquillage I was sucked into buying this after seeing Miss Budget Beauty rave about it in her First Impressions video. It has a fairly light coverage and doesn’t feel like you’re wearing make up at all. I find that it lasts really well throughout the day and just looks like your own skin, but better! The only downside to this is that it doesn’t have a pump, so I just have to be very careful that I don’t spill out loads of it whenever I use it!

Rimmel Lash Accelerator Endless MascaraRimmel Lash Accelerator Endless Mascara Rimmel Lash Accelerator Endless Mascara Brush Wand I first heard of this via the Best & Worst of Rimmel Products video made by the gorgeous Fleur de Force who I think may be my favourite Youtuber. It has tiny little plastic bristles that give a great even coating and pick up even the littlest of lashes without adding clumps. I don’t like thick clumpy lashes, and prefer a defining and lengthening formula and this mascara thankfully delivers in this department. However, you could definitely build up the volume if you put on more coats, so it delivers well, whatever your mascara tastes.

Bourjois Bronzing PowderBourjois Bronzing Powder Bourjois Bronzing Powder Medianes 51Gemma from Gemsmaquillage has talked about loving this bronzer a lot in loads of her videos so I eventually gave in and picked it up. It’s a fairly light colour and isn’t heavily pigmented so it’s easy to use, without me ending up looking like I’ve brushed mud on my face. I think that if you had a darker skin tone it probably wouldn’t show up, but for someone like me who is super pale, this works well. There is the tiniest bit of shimmer in the powder but you don’t really notice this on the skin. Despite people raving about the chocolate scent, mine doesn’t seem to smell chocolatey at all, so I don’t know what’s up there!

Rimmel Stay Matte Powder in TranslucentRimmel Stay Matte Powder TranslucentThis powder has been applauded by lots of girls on Youtube, particularly Tanya Burr. Like Tanya, I’ve got the Translucent shade so it’s completely sheer on the skin and doesn’t leave it looking at all powerdery. I always put this on over my T-zone once I’ve put on my foundation and it keeps me shine free until around lunchtime / mid-afternoon. I can’t be bothered to lug both this and a brush around with me in my handbag though (my bag is heavy enough as it is!) so if I need to de-shine later on in the day, I’ll use some blotting papers.

Collection Lasting Perfection ConcealerCollection Lasting Perfection Concealer This product has been loved and praised by pretty much every British beauty blogger / vlogger out there. It costs less than £5 but provides such good coverage, without looking super cakey, and it just lasts all day. Definite holy grail beauty product. If you haven’t tried it, get down to Superdrug or Boots now and pick it up!

Urban Decay Naked PaletteUrban Decay Naked Palette originalUrban Decay Naked Palette Original SinUrban Decay Naked Palette Original Half Baked SmogAgain, this is another product that has been a favourite for so many people. It’s not cheap, but it’s such a versatile palette. For someone like me who prefers neutral shades to bright colour on my eyes, it is perfect. Many of the shades are shimmery and there are a couple of matte shades in there as well. I always wear them with the Urban Decay Primer Potion underneath – this is a magic combo that keeps them on all day/evening. My favourite shades are Virgin, a shimmery cream colour which is great for highlighting the inner corner of your eye, Half Baked which is a gorgeous gold colour, and Smog which is a shimmery golden-brown colour.

Overall, I’d say that the Youtube beauty community have been pretty good with their recommendations, as there really are some super products here. These girls are the best adverts out there!

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus 🙂
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Youtube made me do it…

  1. Sam says:

    I am obsessed with beauty gurus too. Have you ever watched Zoella? She is one of my favorites. I like MissGlammorazi too. Have fun with your Naked palette. It was definitely worth the investment for me. Did you get a free sample of the Primer Potion with it?

    • Yeah I love both of those girls as well. They are both very sweet!
      I got my first tube of Primer Potion with the palette and I’m addicted to it now. Those Urban Decay people know what they’re doing! x

  2. Pingback: My Beauty Corner | Sams Happy Ever After

  3. Pingback: September Empties | The New Northerner

Leave a Reply

