The Good Things in Life: Guilty Pleasures

Wikipedia defines ‘guilty pleasures’ as something one enjoys and considers pleasurable despite feeling guilt for enjoying it. The ‘guilt’ involved is sometimes simply fear of others discovering one’s lowbrow or otherwise embarrassing tastes. As the fourth post in my ‘The Good Things in Life’ series, here are some of my guilty pleasures.

1. A ridiculous nail polish collectionNail polish collectionWho needs this many nail polishes really? I don’t think I’m ever going to use them all up, but they all just look so pretty and I do enjoy trying out new colours!

2. The Daily Mail’s online celebrity gossipIMG_0830 For late night perusals when winding down before going to sleep. I have several girlfriends who are the same as me in that they would never read The Daily Mail paper (definitely not a fan!), but when it comes to that little side bar of celebrity gossip on TDM’s website, you can while away so much time, clicking from news on Rihanna’s latest outfit to Justin Bieber’s most recent mishaps. You hop into bed thinking, ‘I’ll just have a quick read for five minutes before going to sleep’ and then one hour later you’re still on there!

3. Stock piling the PimmsThe summeriest of all summery drinks. If ever I see this on a good special offer, I’ll bag as many as I can carry (trying not to look like an alcoholic!) as this is my favourite tipple for summer time! Brownie points for added strawberries, cucumber and mint.

4. Collecting anything sheep-relatedIMG_0811 OK, this is where you start thinking that I’ve gone a bit loopy. For some reason, I just have a bit of a thing for sheep, which I think may have started on a family holiday to Derbyshire once upon a time. We stayed in a cottage in the countryside and seemed to see a helluva lot of cute sheep round and about!IMG_0808Everyone needs a sheep to guard their books right?IMG_0806And a sheep for a footstool? Although she is far too cute for me to actually allow anyone to put their smelly feet on her. Her name is Rebecca and she came from the flock over at Bo Peep Sheep.IMG_0823 A gorgeous picture that I recently picked up following my urge to decorate my house a bit more. I’ll post more on the other things I picked up soon!IMG_0861 A black and white sheep version of noughts and crosses…IMG_0852 And Shaun the Sheep to help with shower time.Shaun the sheep shower flower

5. Hula Hoops dipped in Philadelphia Cream CheeseIMG_0863 Definitely not the healthiest of snacks, but I just love the crunchiness and saltiness of Hula Hoops combined with gorgeous cream cheese! And Hula Hoops are perfectly made for scooping up great big dollops of the stuff. Happy days.Hula hoops dipped in cream cheese

6. Beauty YoutubingTwinkle Lashes - Beauty Guru Youtube For a bit of downtime, I love watching Youtube beauty gurus. They’re a great way to discover new products, learn new tips and generally relax. And they make my beauty product collection look tiny in comparison!  Here I’m watching the lovely Holly from Twinklelashes. My favourite video ever for winding down has to be Oxford Jasmine’s Facial Massage – it’s the most relaxing, soothing video! IMG_0845I usually listen to Youtube wearing my mahoosive colourful headphones as there’s only so long Darren can take hearing about lip gloss, nail polish and blusher!

Do any of you share the same guilty pleasures as me? What are yours?

You can follow me on: BloglovinTwitterGoogle Plus 🙂
This entry was posted in The Good Things in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Good Things in Life: Guilty Pleasures

  1. Anne says:

    Oh so recognisable! I can’t count the amount of times I’ve had a friend give me weird looks when they’ve opened the browser on my iPhone and some random Kanye+Kim story on the Daily Mail was on. Can’t say the same about the sheep obsession, although it’s a very cute guilty pleasure! xxx

  2. Pingback: Home Decor Haul #1 | The New Northerner

  3. Pingback: Youtube made me do it… | The New Northerner

  4. Saadiya says:

    Great post! I’m loving YouTube too – so good to just watch your faves 🙂
    Saadiya x

    http://www.thatgirlsaadiya.blogspot.com

  5. Anne says:

    I am loving this post! I have the same bedtime routine of winding down to DailyMail’s celebrity gossip. I also love your lamb collection — Chatsworth has these to-die-for black and white lamb soaps. I’m going to have to check out the footstool!

    Best,
    Anne

    http://www.bentonandtilley.com

  6. Pingback: Bakewell | The New Northerner

  7. Pingback: The Pembrokeshire County Show | The New Northerner

Leave a Reply

