June Favourites

So we’re at the end of June already. We’ve had a gorgeously sunny weekend, and right now Glastonbury is on the TV (my parents are there and I’m not, gutted!), the Tour de France has started (come on Froome!), I’ve got a lovely cool breeze coming into the apartment through my balcony door and I’ve got yummy smells coming from the kitchen as Darren rustles up some roast lamb for dinner. Here are the things that I’ve been loving this month:

Fashion

This month I’ve been obsessively wearing my pearl necklaces. These are my two favourites:IMG_0443 This set of chunky pearls is from Miss Selfridge and is my most worn. It has a cream silky ribbon at the back so you can adjust the length and it therefore works with loads of tops and dresses, no matter what the neckline. It is just so simple and classic.The New Northerner pearl necklace 2 This second one is in the shape of a cute Peter Pan collar and was from New Look (similar one here). This is great for layering over t shirts and dressing up an otherwise fairly simple outfit.

Beauty

The Burt’s Bees Honey & Shea Sugar Scrub is my favourite product right now. I wasn’t sure about the smell when I first got the scrub, but it has grown on me and now I love it so much that I just want to keep the pot under my nose at all times so I can keep smelling it (although that would just be weird!). This contains honey and shea, ground almonds and aloe leaf juice to scrub skin smooth.Burts Bees Honey and Shea Sugar Scrub 3  Burts Bees Honey and Shea Sugar Scrub It is full of sugar and ground almond particles so it is a fairly abrasive manual scrub.  The consistency is very thick and not particularly runny but the aloe leaf juice in it helps to make your skin feel moisturised without leaving it feeling sticky or covered in residue.

Food

Ok, so a salad might seem like a bit of a boring meal to have as a food favourite, but trust me, this was the best salad I have ever tried  – The Welsh Goats Cheese Salad from Dukes 92. Dukes 92 is a bar and grill on the banks of the canal in Castlefield, Manchester which has loads of outdoor seating so it’s great for a sunny weekend afternoon.Dukes 92 collageDukes 92  I’m a massive goats cheese fan, so I was immediately drawn to this as soon as I looked at the menu. This bad boy was packed full of big chunks of goats cheese, mixed leaves, cherry tomatoes, poached pear, candied walnuts and was covered with a gorgeous honey and black pepper dressing. The honey in the dressing and the poached pear gave a gorgeous sweetness and the goats cheese was deliciously creamy. All of the different textures from the crisp leaves to the crunchy walnuts to the melt-in-your-mouth cheese worked really well together. My mouth is watering again just thinking about it!

I hope that you all had a lovely month of June. Please let me know what your favourite things from June were or link your blog post below if you’ve done a similar sort of post.

This entry was posted in Monthly favourites and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June Favourites

  1. I love your Peter Pan collar. Your little jacket is really cute too. Lovely photos. x

Leave a Reply

