Meatzza

I definitely have a little bit of a girl crush on Nigella.  I adore watching her shows and whilst I can never hope to be such a domestic goddess as her, I have been trying my hand at some of her recipes. Her latest series and book, Nigellissima, have been filled with all sorts of yummy Italian goodness and I have enjoyed trying to recreate or take inspiration from some of her dishes.Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Last night we had a crack at making a variation on her Meatzza – a pizza made of meat. It’s a very simple recipe and will be a sure fire hit with any meat lovers out there! You are essentially replacing the bread base of a pizza with a meatball mix and then can put any toppings of your choice on top. We decided to go for the simple Margherita Meatzza.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

We used:

  • 500g lean pork mince (although beef mince would work just as well)
  • 2 eggs
  • A carton of chopped tomatoes
  • 45g porridge oats
  • A mozzarella ball
  • Parmesan or other hard cheese
  • Grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • Olive oil
  • Basil
  • A garlic cloveExif_JPEG_PICTURE

Firstly I mixed up the mince, grated hard cheese, porridge oats and eggs using my hands in a large bowl. Then I pressed my garlic clove and added this to the mixture alongside some salt and pepper.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Then taking my chopped tomatoes, I drained off the excess liquid using a sieve and mixed with with a bit of olive oil, the oregano and some more salt and pepper.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Finally for prepping the topping, I chopped up the mozzarella ball and some fresh basil for garnishing.Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

I buttered up my largest big round dish and put the meat mixture into it, pressing with my fingers to spread it out over the dish like a pizza crust. Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Then I added my mozzarella and grated my cheddar cheese over the top and popped it into the oven for 20-25 mins at 220 C / gas mark 7.Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Once it was ready I just added the basil on top, and tah-dah! The finished Meatzza!

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREExif_JPEG_PICTURE

Just slice it up like a normal pizza, grab some potato wedges and some salad, and Bob’s your uncle, your Meatzza is ready! Enjoy!Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meatzza

  1. India S says:

    oh my god this looks INCREDIBLE!!

Leave a Reply

