My April favourites

My favourite things from April!

Entertainment

Cats

I love musicals, so when I heard that Cats was coming to Manchester I knew that I had to see it! I’m pretty familiar with the songs from Cats but had never been to see the show so I was very excited to go and have the full experience.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Cats

We managed to get tickets very near the front so we were right in there for the action. Cats is based on TS Eliot’s poetry collection, Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats, and doesn’t really have much of a story line, but mostly just explores all of the different types of cats that belong to the Jellicle cats tribe and at the end of the musical they decide which cat will come back to new life. I loved all of the music and dancing, particularly from the incredible Mr Mistoffelees! The costumes and face paints to turn the performers into their cat characters were absolutely brilliant.

Beauty

Marc Jacobs Dot Eau de Parfum

Marc Jacobs DotThis beautiful perfume is a chic floral full of red berries, sweet honeysuckle and dragonfruit which is perfect for spring time. It was actually a present from my boyfriend who seems to have a very good taste for perfumes and beauty products!

Fashion

Oliver Bonas Alphabet Necklace

Oliver Bonas necklace

This necklace is so tiny (the L is less than a centimetre high) and delicate. I’ve worn this so much over the past month as it just goes with so many outfits.

Marks & Spencer Limited Collection Platform Court Shoe

Marc JacobsI’d been on the hunt for a new pair of simple black shoes that are high enough to not make me look teeny tiny, but are also comfortable enough to walk in and I think I’ve found my perfect shoe! Despite it’s mumsy appearance, M&S actually has a really great well-priced shoe selection so I’d recommend checking them out.

Book

Squirrel Inc by Stephen Denning

Squirrel Inc

Whilst a book about squirrels might not sound very serious, this is a really good book for anyone in any kind of leadership position. The focus of the book is to explain how you can use the power of story telling to achieve powerful change such as winning people over, motivating people, taming gossip, transmit values and communicate who you are. It skips between a story about squirrels who run a nut-burying company and how they manage change within their company, and little excerpts that elaborate on the lessons learnt from the squirrels’ story.

Food & Drink

Frijj Honeycomb Choc Swirl Milkshake

Frijj

This came highly recommended from my friend Mike and I can assure you that it is very delicious. Sweet and creamy and highly addictive!

Cake stand

Cake standI fell in love with this pretty cake stand as soon as I clapped eyes upon it. Now all I need to do is to bake some yummy cakes to go on it! I’ve recently made the scrumptious Marsbar Melts which were super easy. The Londoner is a great source of inspiration for easy cooking.

What were your favourite things from April? X

This entry was posted in Monthly favourites and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My April favourites

  1. Anouka says:

    I’ve seen Cats and it’s one of my favourite musicals ever!

    LUXESSED

  2. I really want to try marc jacobs dot perfume, it sounds really nice 🙂 x

    http://www.ofbeautyandnothingness.blogspot.co.uk

  3. Dominique says:

    i agree about the m & shoes…can always find cheap staple heels there!

    Capturing the Wanderlust

Leave a Reply

