Just wandering…

Whenever I walk somewhere, I always seem to be in such a hurry to get from A to B as quickly as possible, which can mean that I never fully appreciate what’s going on around me. This weekend for a change, we decided to have a potter around the city centre with no particular end goal in mind, other than just appreciating what we saw around us.

We ended up having a very musical afternoon, wandering around listening to all of the street performers, of which there are many! There are some great jazz buskers that frequent the city centre at all hours of the day and night and these two saxophonists were no exception. Getting a jazz concert in exchange for a bit of spare change seems pretty good going to me.

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREWe also found a brilliant drummer, whose routine with a full drum kit looked absolutely exhausting. It made playing an instrument seem like quite a work out!

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

I never normally stop to enjoy these type of things so it was so nice to just relax, soak it all in and enjoy a bargainous street concert.

Afterwards we went for a stroll along Deansgate and popped into one of my favourite galleries – the Whitewall Galleries. This is the kind of place where you wish you had a few thousands pounds to fritter away on some beautiful wall candy.

Here were a few of my favourites:

Golden Meadow

Although I enjoy living in Manchester, I do miss the lush green countryside of Somerset, so I loved how this picture reminded me of hot summer days hanging out in the fields.English Elegance

As a keen rowing cox, I attend (and sometimes compete) at Henley Royal Regatta every year. This picture shows the genteel Stewards’ Enclosure full of men in daft club blazers and women in pretty dresses. I can’t wait for Henley again this year!Deep Waters

I just loved the colours in this beautiful painting! It feels very calming to me.

What is your favourite way to spend a lazy afternoon?

This entry was posted in Manchester and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just wandering…

  1. Beautiful photos. I miss the beautiful countryside at times. The jazz time sounds like it was great, a perfect day to spend the afternoon! /Madison

Leave a Reply

