Cute storage ideas

I am a massive hoarder, so in order to make sure that my apartment is presentable, cute storage is a necessity for all of my stuff! I’m always on the look out for pretty but practical storage solutions or trying to find ways to use existing items I have in a new way. In today’s post, I thought I would share a few of my little ideas.

Vintage tea cups and pretty mugs

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE Decorative teacups and mugs are a great way to store make up and beauty supplies, so you can clearly see what you have, but in a tidy way. I got my vintage tea cups from my Great Grandma and use these for storing cotton wool and cotton buds, and I’m sure that you’d be able to find similar ones from your local charity shop or car boot sale for a few squids. My mugs were from Whittard of Chelsea who I love for beautifully painted crockery. Here are a few of my favourites from their current collection:

Whittard mug 2 Whittard mug

Whittard mug 3 Whittard mug 4

Pen holders

Cute pen holders are also a fun way to store beauty tools. I’ve had this little cow pen holder since I’ve been at school and unfortunately I’ve no idea where it is from, but most stationers should stock pen holders.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Letter rack

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREThis mesh letter holder from WhSmith has been a great way to store my earrings. I find that unless I keep my jewellery on display, I tend to forget what I own and don’t make the most of my collection.

Old gift boxes

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE Exif_JPEG_PICTUREThis sturdy wooden box originally housed a large bottle of Champagne and is now being used for the much less glamourous job of storing my socks! When I originally had this box I had no idea what I was going to do with it, I just knew that I would find some use for it, and it seemed a crime to throw it away in the bin! Then when I moved into my latest apartment a few months ago, it proved useful at last.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Hat boxes

Exif_JPEG_PICTUREI’ve had these hat boxes for years and although they are only made of thick cardboard, they have lasted through so many house moves and are just as sturdy as when I first had them. I use the big pink one for underwear, the blue one for clutch bags, the lilac and green ones for stationery and the little yellow one for hair accessories. They look great when all stacked together or just scattered separately throughout my room. I don’t remember where they were originally from, but there are lots of different places where you can find pretty storage boxes. My favourites currently on the market are these French-style hat boxes from notonthehighstreet.com.

original_set-of-four-cream-hat-boxes

I hope that this post might have given you a few ideas. Let me know if you have any more pretty storage tips!

This entry was posted in Random stuff, Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

