My everyday make up

I love finding out what make up other people wear and getting little tips and tricks that I might be able to use on myself. When people use the same products on a daily basis, it’s generally because they love them and they work well, so I always find that reading about other people’s daily routines is a great source of make up product ideas. To that end, I thought I would share with you what I use on a daily basis in order to share the love for the products I’m really enjoying right now. For my everyday make up, I focus on perfecting the skin and then adding a little bit of colour to my cheeks and lips. I never bother with any eye make up on a day-to-day basis for work as I’m always in a rush in the morning. Also, as I’m very fair with blonde eyelashes, eye makeup doesn’t look particularly natural on me so I tend to leave eye make up for evenings! So this is what I use…

The skin

make upThe Revlon Nearly Naked foundation is a relatively recent product launch and I have been absolutely loving it. This foundation gives a light-medium coverage and makes your skin look slightly dewy without looking shiny. It lasts well throughout the day and the shade I use (130 Shell) matches my pale skin very well. For concealer, I love the Collection Lasting Perfection Ultimate Wear Concealer. This provides the best coverage from anything I’ve ever tried and comes in at a bargainous price – less than £5. I use this underneath my eyes and to cover any areas of redness or blemishes. For powder I use the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Power in the shade Translucent. A quick swipe of this across the T-zone will keep me shine free for most of the day.

The colour

make upFor lips, I swear by the 2true Lip & Cheek Tint. This is a brilliant copy of Benefit’s Benetint but only costs £1.99 from Superdrug. It gives a lovely rosy colour to your lips and stains your lips well so the colour stays put for hours. On top of this I will either use the L’oreal Studio Secrets Lip Lacquer in shade 420 which is a beautiful rosy gloss, or if I’m going to be outside in the sun, I’ll use the Carmex Moisture Plus Ultra Hydrating Lip Balm Sheer Tint in Pink which has SPF 15. The L’oreal gloss adds a good amount of extra colour on top of the 2true tint and feels non-sticky on the lips. The Carmex balm has a tiny bit of colour and adds a subtle amount of shine, whilst feeling really moisturising. My favourite tinted lip balm ever has to be the Burt’s Bees Tinted Lip Balms for the lovely colour and the super-creamy moisturising feeling, but this Carmex balm comes a close second.

For blush I use MAC’s Blushbaby. This is a really natural looking blusher that adds a lovely subtle colour to my cheeks. It’s a Sheertone and therefore isn’t too highly pigmented, but allows you to build the colour up gradually. I’ve worn this blusher every day for work for over three years and I’ve only just hit the bottom of the pan in a tiny area in the middle, so this has definitely worked out as good value for money.

The brushes

make up brushes

For brushes, I only use two on an everyday basis- the Ecotools Foundation Brush and the MAC 116 Brush. I use the foundation brush to blend in my foundation and also my concealer. As it’s not too big, it’s quite easy to do blending over small areas as well as using it to cover my whole face. I use my MAC 116 both for blusher and for my face powder. The bristles are really soft and they pick up just the right amount of product.

Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

I love all of these products and have really been enjoying using them on daily basis. Let me know if you have any suggestions for any other products you think I might like!

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My everyday make up

  1. Pingback: What’s in my bag? | The New Northerner

Leave a Reply

