Goodfellows: a birthday dinner in Somerset

This week was my Dad’s 50th birthday so I popped on a train back down to the shire and we went out to a lovely little restaurant in Wells called Goodfellows for the start of three day’s worth of birthday celebrations. This restaurant is a stone’s throw away from Wells Cathedral and serves delicious food, all of which is impeccably presented to a standard that far exceeded my expectations. The staff were so friendly and the food was simply superb! We shall definitely be back again!

For starter I had the pheasant and pistachio terrine.

Image

It was absolutely scrumptious! I followed this with the venison haunch steak. The venison was beautifully tender, the veg was a lovely accompaniment and I loved the parsnip crisps on top. I’d be very keen to have this again!Image

My Mum had the salmon which she assures me was absolutely beautiful.

Image

As it was my Dad’s birthday, we obviously had to have cake so my Mum made the cake and my Auntie decorated it. Here we have Grandma, and Dad enjoying everyone singing Happy Birthday to him! Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Our brilliant waiter Mario offered to take it away to slice it up for us and it came back beautifully presented with coulis and dusted sugar. They cut some very generous portions so we were truly stuffed!

ImageImage

We had such a fabulous time, I can’t wait to go back again!

Image

To continue the birthday celebrations, we went to London for the weekend. I’ll be blogging about our adventures over the next few days, so I’ll see you again soon.

This entry was posted in Celebrations, Eating out, Somerset and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

